How to stay Vital, Healthy, & Adventuresome past 45; The physical component.

When the kids are at home and we are focused on raising the family and the every day routine it requires, being able to live life full of intellectual, physical, and cultural stimulus takes a back seat.  But, when the nest is empty, we have an entire new agenda to plan for, IF we take control of our lives and ‘just do it’.man & woman

I spent the majority of my life making sure that physical fitness was a daily priority.  But, as the kids became more and more active, and I took on more and more work, physical fitness somehow became a wish, not an activity.  Now at, 50, the regret I have for not staying with the routine is one of the biggest regrets I have in my life.  So, time to get back on board to making physical fitness a priority!  Taking ten years off has taken its toll!  I am already feeling the all the effects that are spoken of below, and if it is this bad already, the 1-2% loss per year, again as stated below, is not something I going to just let happen.  Time to be pro-active as never before!

Thirteen years ago I designed a work-out that absolutely kicked by derriere!  I wanted to copyright it and market it, but other priorities took precedence.  Not too long afterwords P90 burst onto the scene; my work-out was very similar.  A few differences but the mentality was the same, but mine was always 30 minutes or less.

Now, I have committed myself to walking 10,000 steps at least 3X weekly, which I have been doing for 9 months, but the physical re-growth needs a WHOLE lot more to happen~you know what I mean?  I might not get back into my size two’s again, but I will feel – come hell or high water- a lot better than I do now.  The walking is good; it gets my joints moving, warms up all the muscles allowing for thorough stretch making movement so much more effortless, and the fresh air does absolute wonders for me.  It gives me ‘brain time’ to either catch up with Mr. Wondeful’s thoughts, think about my next ‘first’ or my travels and writings, and appreciate all the beautiful Godly gifts surrounding us.

But, the muscle atrophy is pathetic.  I know the only way back to feeling my best it back to weight training, and bursts of energy.

I am working on a routine for those of us 45 and older, and a nutrient packed diet.  I will share the results with you in time.  For now, I have juiced every morning for three days, and consumed high nutrients but extremely low calories, and am committing to 30 minutes of muscle-building at least three days per week.  (I have a body full of titanium and my entire c-spine is ruptured, so this is not an easy routine to design).  I have seventeen pounds to lose, according to Atkins.  I will say this, when I was committed to working out, I weighed thirty pounds less; so we will see where I end up on the scales when I am happy with my physical-ness; not just weight loss.

If you want to commit to building muscle to save your joints, eating more nutritious for optimal health, and cutting calories to extend our lives, please join me!  I am a very firm advocate of prevention; I do not believe in any statins when exercise and diet, most of the time, will create satisfactory readings.  So, again, this is about long-term health and being pro-active for a vital and healthy ‘me’ for the rest of my adventuresome life!

This is an article I stumbled across on the web, and I do think it is a good first step!  I hope you enjoy, and I welcome any and all feed back on your progress!

Exercise Recommendations for Healthy Aging

The full article can be read at:  http://www.acupuncturetoday.com/mpacms/at/article.php?id=33081

By Jeffrey Tucker, DC, DACRB

Aging is inevitable, but how you age is not. Common physical signs of aging include decreased muscle mass, decreased muscular power, increased body fat, and decreased aerobic (lung) capacity.

Beginning in the fourth decade of life, adults lose 3-5 percent of muscle mass per decade; after age 50, the decline increases to 1-2 percent per year. However, with proper exercise recommendations to our patients, we can slow down the rate of loss from one year to the next.

My message to patients is that exercise is a powerful intervention and can be at least as effective as prescription drugs in preventing age-related health issues. Patients have the potential to get stronger, decrease their risk of osteoporosis, and preserve muscle mass and lung capacity. I use exercise in my practice to help balance muscles to improve posture, decrease pain, manage weight, improve muscle and bone strength, improve balance and stimulate hormones. I hope to encourage as many patients as possible to engage in healthy-aging exercises.

30-Day Challenge

I recently gave myself a 30-day exercise challenge. My goal was to perform 300 push-ups and 300 kettlebell swings in a 40-minute exercise session. The 40 minutes includes my warm-up and cooldown. I set the timer on my elliptical for 40 minutes. I do a dynamic warm-up for about 5 minutes and then perform sets of 30 push-ups and 30 swings (each set takes approximately two minutes). After each set, I get back on the elliptical as my “rest” phase. The push-ups work my upper body; the swings get the posterior chain and are a high-cardio effort. The elliptical works the legs and serves as low-cardio effort.

At the start of the challenge, I was able to do 150 total push-ups and 150 swings without overdoing it. Over the next 30 days, my elliptical “rest” periods had to become shorter (a minute or two) and I would repeat the 30 reps of push-ups and swings for 10 sets until I reached my goal of 300 each.

If you have ever taken one of my courses, you know I usually tell participants my “happy practice” would be teaching patients movement, writing exercise programs for healthy aging, and implementing weight-loss programs. But I am known for treating chronic pain patients and 99 percent of my new patients still come in for pain-relief strategies. The difference now from 20-30 years ago is that new patients know I use exercise as medicine and I expect them to exercise at home. What’s stopping you from doing the same in your practice?

Take-Home Points

  1. The benefits of physical activity persist to the end of life.
  2. Get your patients to be more intense while doing exercise.
  3. We lose function much faster than we regain it – so help patients preserve function for a lifetime.

References:

  1. Wen CP, et al. Minimum amount of physical activity for reduced mortality and extended life expectancy: a prospective cohort study. Lancet, Oct 2011;378;9798:1244-53.
  2. “15 Minutes of Moderate Daily Exercise Lengthens Life, Taiwanese Study Finds.” Science Daily, Aug. 17, 2011.
  3. Barnett S, Shroff S. “Secret to Active 80s? Fitness-Heavy 40s.” ABC News via “Good Morning America,” Aug. 27, 2012.
  4. 4. Willis BL, et al. Midlife fitness and the development of chronic conditions in later life. JAMA Internal Med, Sept. 24, 2012;172(17):1333-40.
  5. Soares-Miranda L, et al. Physical activity and heart rate variability in older adults: The Cardiovascular Health Study. Circulation, published online first May 5, 2014.
Leave a Reply

